The Key of Life

People who have known me awhile know that I left my non profit job back in April to focus on creative projects (painting and party production) and figure myself out.

On my 14th hour of partying on the last day of this year’s Movement/DEMF (Detroit Electronic Music Festival), I had the revelation that, among all my favorite things in the world, the best music is, to me, the best of anything. A couple of months later, while listening to Motown with a group of drunk and exhausted friends, it clicked.

I prefaced my announcement with a resigned, “SHIT…”: “I have to do something with music.” One friend said, “Okay(?)”, so I explained myself. I had expected during my unemployment to struggle and toil not only with feeling meaningfully occupied, with managing financial anxiety, but also with various aspects of my art – the technical elements, having a vision, choosing materials, and relearning the creative process, with all of its distresses, its defeats, its tragedies, and its moments of modest elation, jubilation, sense of success, accomplishment, and acceptance. It was a lot, but with painting, at least I had an idea of what I was getting into. Music had never been part of the plan.

At that point, another friend, trying to comfort me, said, “Well, you don’t HAVE to do something with music. Lots of people love music and just appreciate it.” And it was in that moment that I realized that I was at the beginning of a very long and personal road. Even good friends wouldn’t get it. And even friends who got it wouldn’t necessarily be encouraging.

It has been under 2 months since I first learned about CDJs and about a month and a half since I first touched a mixer. In this time, I have become clearer about who I am and what I want, and made stronger connections with people than I’ve ever had in my life. The below album was just gifted to me by a new friend of mine who shares my love of music. There really is nothing better.

 

14100345_605465775812_7056724621182702613_n

One comment

Leave a Reply

