Part 3 – Default World

Truth be told, I am unclear on all that Dio and I did when we returned to New York. (If anyone has information relating to events of that week, please submit it for use in my ongoing investigation.)

One thing I know for sure is that the day following our epic journey back from Nevada, Dio played a gig at Macao downtown, where our friends REsy and PONY have a weekly spot. Friday and Saturday are a blur, so I’m sure they were fun.

Sunday, we landed ourselves at the Dirtybird BBQ on Governor’s Island. Our gracious host offered us SUPER VIP wristbands, which meant we got free booze and a private port-a-potty. We also got to hang with the big birds and even Joshua Jackson showed up to boogie.

img_1072

Music-wise, Walker & Royce and Justin Martin delivered my favorite sets. Claude VonStroke (“The Claudefather”), while always enjoyable, was just too exhausted from his marathon BBQing and other gigs to play anything really inspired during the final set of the night. (I noted to the equally-exhausted security guard nearby that he could be sure that Claude would stop playing promptly at 12:00 am, as printed on the schedule, and sure enough, even Cinderella’s fairy godmother couldn’t have been more punctual.)

In these last several weeks, the events have not slowed down, and I am still getting practice in on my own music whenever I get the chance. It’s been three months since I began committing myself to the world of music and this is an exciting time. I’ll work on updating this blog more regularly and being better at keeping you posted on all that’s happening as things progress.

Next post: Treetops Mad Science Fair

14242239_606697547332_5620399826103884613_o

Leave a Reply

